Introducing Theodore

Guys, today I’m going to tell you about something that I really do love so much…My puppy Theodore!!!  Actually, this post is to advocate rescuing a dog.

When I first met Theo, he was in his cage at the Shepherd of the Hills Humane Society.  I was with Shiloh and I told him I just wanted to stop in and look at the dogs (yeah right!).  Theo was in the room with all the cats because the attendant said the dogs made him nervous.  He was just such a scared, timid little guy…and I think I loved him right away:)

IMG_0924

The attendant asked if I wanted to get him out of his cage and I said yes.  I sat on their couch and held him while he shook and looked terrified.  I just wanted to take care of him and make him feel safe!  I looked at all the other dogs and then I needed to leave (because it was my roommate’s b-day party day), but I felt so sad to leave Theo!

That was Saturday.  I told Janae (my roommate) about him and we decided to both go look at him on Monday over lunch.  Janae and I had talked about getting a dog for 2 years, but we could never get on the same page about it.  But when she saw Theo, she said, “Oh!  Yeah, he is pretty cute!”  We both loved him and made the decision that day to adopt him.

094

Even as I was signing papers, I was worried that we made the decision to quickly.  I’d never owned a dog before and I didn’t know how much work it would be.  I didn’t know if he was house trained or anything!  Shiloh and my parents all seconded my worries.  But, the deed was done.

Janae picked him up that afternoon and he proceeded to poop in her new car (It was horrible!  We have since found out that he gets car sick.).  He was so terrified.  Then she had to give him a bath because I was at work and she was off for the summer (#teacherproblems).  When I got home, he just was so unsure and afraid.  The lady at the shelter told me that they had rescued him from an animal hoarder.  I think he has definitely been abused by a human or bullied by more dominant dogs.

101

But guess what?!  Theo is a completely different dog now!  He’s still pretty scared of new people (especially men), but he walks around our house like he owns the place!  He gets so excited when we come home and he loves to give kisses (which basically means he licks you…which is pretty gross, but he doesn’t know that).  He looks like a little fox and everyone thinks he is adorable.

Janae loves Theo, but I’m obsessed with him.  I’m a naturally anxious person, and I really think he helps me with that.  He follows me around like my shadow and sleeps in my room (sometimes on my bed…I never thought I’d do that but he’s just so cute!).  He thinks my main job is to rub his belly, and I always give in.  I mean, come on!  How can you ignore such a cute little guy who just looks at you like he’s saying, “I love you.  I love you.  I love you.  I love you.”  I couldn’t!

Also, I should note, Theo is a great dog.  He’s only had a few accidents (and I’m pretty sure those weren’t accidents…I think he was acting out because we weren’t home), he rarely barks or cries, and he can be pretty chill most of the time.  Maybe this is lame, but I think God was saving him for us:)

Oh, one more thing…Theo totally looks like me!  Like, if I was a dog, I would look just like Theo:)

107

230

213

123

112

108

Love you guys,

Chelsea

Leave a Reply

